Black Bean Burritos

We have black bean quesadillas frequently, but rarely branch out to other variations, so I finally decided to be adventurous and try something slightly different.

Using our same quesadilla filling (sauteed onion, diced tomato, black beans) I filled the tortilla and added some cheese (Mexican blend and a little sharp cheddar was what I found as I excavated the fridge). Rolled up, doused with a can of enchilada sauce I found buried in the pantry, and sprinkled with the last of the cheddar cheese, they went into the oven briefly.

Served with salsa and sour cream, these ended up being pretty tasty, though I doubt they’ll take the place of quesadillas for us – those are just such a quick meal and don’t require heating up the oven or cleaning the extra dish. Neither of us were crazy about the green enchilada sauce – it tasted tinny, though I’m not sure if that’s the fault of the brand or the fact that it had been in my pantry for a looooong time.

These would be easier to do for a crowd than the quesadillas though, which we end up fixing one at a time; not a big deal when there are only two people, but not exactly convenient if you’ve got a bunch of hungry people waiting for a meal.

2 Responses

  1. I love anything with black beans. This sounds delicious!

  2. I don’t know how I ever managed before I discovered black beans – I use them all the time. Someday I’ll give dried ones a try but for now I go for the convenience of canned.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

