Chipped Beef.

I am almost ashamed to admit how much I love creamy chipped beef. I grew up eating the Stouffers version – just pull out of the freezer, nuke for a few minutes and enjoy over toast.

Then I got older and learned about things like preservatives and hydrogenated fats and excessive amounts of sodium. And I started to try to avoid eating foods that had a string of ingredients that I can’t pronounce. Not that I’m completely successful, but I’m trying. So anyway, Stouffers had to go.

But how can I survive without my comfort food of creamed chipped beef? That’s right, by finally figuring out that it’s not that hard so I’ll just have to learn to cook it myself.

And so I have.

I’m almost embarrassed now at how easy it is. And I feel so accomplished. I can make a roux and a white sauce! Yay me!

No amounts are given because it all depends on how many people you’re serving. It’s easy to make for one or two or whatever you need. Ok, I’m guessing it’s still easy to make for more than two, but two’s all I’ve ever served with this.

So, to begin. You’ll need butter, flour, milk, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper. Tabasco too if you’re feeling brave. And some dried beef (Budding type). And some toast of course when you’re ready to eat.

Melt butter in a saucepan deep enough to hold the finished product. Add an equal amount of flour (i.e. 1 tablespoon of butter? use 1 tablespoon of flour). Whisk together and let cook until the roux gets ever so slightly beigy. That’s a real word you know. In my world anyway.

Whisk in the milk, slowly incorporating it so as to integrate the flour and milk.

Add seasonings to taste.

Meanwhile, chop the beef into small bite-sized pieces. When the sauce is thick and luscious-looking, add the beef. Adjust seasonings as needed and serve over toast. Eat and enjoy. Feel oh-so-comforted.

chipped beef

Leave a Reply

