Apple Dumplings

Once again Pioneer Woman has done incredible damage to my half-hearted attempts to eat healthy and think about possibly considering to try and lose weight.

This time it’s apple dumplings.*

Allow me to digress for a bit. I’ve only had apple dumplings once in my life, at a local Renaissance Faire that I attended with Jennifer. After the first bite of luscious pastry and sweet apple with rich creamy sauce, I was hooked. And I immediately began searching for a recipe to duplicate the taste at home. After all, the Faire had left town so I was out of luck as far as getting another one from then again. Sadly, most of the recipes I found called for extreme things like making my own pastry dough. Maybe someday, but that’s not happening anytime soon.

So I was beyond thrilled when PW posted an apple dumpling recipe that involved no making of pastry dough. It involved nothing elaborate at all in fact, requiring only apples, crescent roll dough, BUTTER, sugar, cinnamon, and Mountain Dew.

Yes, I said Mountain Dew.

I don’t actually have Mt. Dew in my house (ok, so I didn’t have crescent roll dough either, but I didn’t mind buying it) so I substituted Sprite. And I forgot to sprinkle the cinnamon over the dumplings before they went in the oven. And I halved the recipe. Other than that, I followed her instructions precisely.

Here are the cute little dumplings ready to go into the oven:

ready-to-go-into-the-oven.jpg

And here they are, all golden brown and delicious after coming out of the oven.

right-out-of-the-oven.jpg

Finally, here are two adorable little dumplings ready for me to devour them. After a liberal application of the dairy product of my choice. Ice cream would have been delish, but I didn’t have any. Whipped cream is really just heavy cream that’s been whipped, so straight heavy cream just avoids that pesky whipping step. And makes the sauce even more delicious.

And my cholesterol even higher, but who’s counting.

plated.jpg

(No photos of the final view because my camera batteries had died and I didn’t want to spend the time to find the charged ones. I was ready to eat.)

Update: I forgot to give the verdict! I thought they were a little too doughy; I’d prefer a higher apple-to-dough ratio. Perhaps my apple was just too small. Next time I’d use a larger chunk of apple for each piece. And yes, I said next time because I thought they were fabulous and so super easy it’ll be a great one to make again. And the fruit makes it healthy, right?

Rob said they were “so good.” Although he did want ice cream with them and we were sadly ice cream-less. And then he complained that there was only half a pan left, so apparently the lack of ice cream didn’t deter him too much from wanting more.

Jennifer has yet to give her input finally given her verdict, deeming them “decadent–I loved the sugar on top, if that’s what it was. There was a crystal-like texture on the top that accented it perfectly. I didn’t have ice cream or whipped cream, but these dumplings didn’t need it, no sir-ee Bob!”

*Go to Pioneer Woman’s site for the original recipe and to admire her incredible photos. Mine just manage to get the idea across. Hers will have you licking your computer screen.

Leave a Reply

