Macaroni & Cheese, Take 2

So as I updated in the last post, my most recent attempt at mac & cheese left me thinking my search was over, I had found mac & cheese nirvana.

I still think that’s possible, although I don’t suppose it’ll necessarily keep me from trying additional versions. Maybe there’s a secondary nirvana that’s even greater than the first.

This version contains no Velveeta, so it kicks the pants off the first version right from the start. It is more complicated to make however, so there is that. But if all I cared about was how easy it is, I’d probably never stray from the boxed stuff.

The recipe is barely modified from the cookbook Saveur Cooks Authentic American. And “barely modified’ means I left off the bread crumb topping. Because I didn’t have any fresh bread crumbs and was too lazy to make them. It’s easy to be lazy when you’re not crazy about bread crumb topping anyway. And I upped the pepper amounts too but I always do that.

So, ingredients.

  • 6 tbsp. butter
  • 6 tbsp. flour
  • 1 tsp. cayenne (1/2 tsp in the original version)
  • salt & freshly ground pepper (white pepper in the original version. I didn’t care about it defacing the appearance of my food to use my regular peppercorns. Plus I don’t own any white peppercorns & I wasn’t about to go shopping just for that.)
  • 3 3/4 cups hot milk. Mine was warmish.
  • 4 cups grated cheddar cheese, divided. I used sharp, and grated it myself. That would be 16 ounces if I did my math correctly.
  • 1 lb pasta, cooked. I used penne I think.
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream.

Melt butter & whisk in flour & cook for about 4 minutes. Stir in seasonings. Whisk in milk a little bit at a time and cook until sauce thickens, whisking constantly (or not quite constantly if you’re me and are doing other things at the same time as this is going). Reduce heat to low & stir in 2 cups of cheese, and cook until cheese melts. Add pasta to cheese sauce.

Sprinkle 1/2 cup cheese over the bottom of a large baking dish. Put 1/3 of pasta in the dish, top with 1/2 cup cheese, and repeat layers two more times. End with cheese. Pour cream over the casserole and bake in a 350F oven about 30 minutes. Allow to rest for 15 minutes before serving.

Directions are slightly abbreviated for typing ease.

This stuff is good. Rob said it was fantastically creamy. Well, he said it was creamy, but I know he meant “fantastically creamy.”

Super Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

(The little black speck in the picture above is black pepper. Really, it’s not dirt in my macaroni. Just course-ground black pepper.)

2 Responses

  1. […] slacker and taking forever to get the pics off the camera. But, I made mac & cheese following a different recipe last weekend (just after posting this) and it may have become my ultimate recipe. Not as simple as […]

  2. This looks great! A nice hot plate of mac n’ cheese…it it hard to beat!
    Welcome to The Foodie Blogroll!

Leave a Reply

