Apple Pear Crisp

This recipe started life as one for French Apple Pie from my mom’s cookbook. During one of her trips to visit me in the far northern realms of Indianapolis (her perspective anyway), she modified it into a crisp and very thoughtfully wrote in the margins what she’d done to modify the recipe and create the tasty crisp.

And all I’ve done is use pears in place of half of the apples. Three main reasons for doing so:

  1. I have a bunch of pears to use up from my produce delivery.
  2. After having a couple from said delivery, I’ve decided I don’t especially like to eat pears out of hand.
  3. I vaguely remember reading somewhere that using pears in place of apples in recipes provides you with a substantial increase in the fiber content of the recipe. This makes my swap nutritionally AND fiscally sound!

Apple/Pear mixture:
6 cups of peeled and chopped apples and pears. This was 3 of each for me, but it’s been fewer in the past when I’ve had extra large apples.
sugar
cinnamon
nutmeg (oh! I forgot, I also skipped the nutmeg and used cardamom instead. Because I adore cardamom and have a big jar of it.)
Toss to combine and spread into baking dish. I used a 8 x 11 maybe? It’s an old dish of my grandmothers and it’s kind of an unusual size. Just make sure it’s big enough to fit the fruit in a shallow layer & still is deep enough to give room for the topping.

Topping:
1/4 cup flour
3/4 cup quick-cooking oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 stick cold butter
Mix flour, oats & brown sugar. Cut butter into mixture, then spread over fruit.

Bake at 400 for 30 minutes or until brown and crispy. Watch to make sure the topping doesn’t burn.

This is so tasty, especially with vanilla ice cream. And it’s fruit, so I feel ever-so-slightly less guilty about eating it. Daily.

Apple Pear Crisp right out of the oven

Leave a Reply

