Real Simple Brownies

Real Simple as in the name of the magazine where the recipe was published, as well as how the brownies are to make.

1 stick unsalted butter
4 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped (or substitute 3/4 c. cocoa, 1/4 c. oil and 1/4 c. sugar)
2 lg. eggs
1 1/2 c. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
3/4 c. flour
4 lg. peanut butter cups, cut into pieces

Heat oven to 400F. Grease an 8×8 baking pan.

Melt butter and chocolate. Stir all ingredients together except peanut butter cups. Fold peanut butter cups in last.

Pour into prepared pan. Bake about 35 minutes.

The verdict?
I thought they were very disappointing. They were easy, but not tasty enough to justify the calories. And I had been so convinced that I’d love them (chocolate & peanut butter, how could I not?) that I doubled the recipe. Unfortunate that, from my perspective.

What else could I do with a bunch of brownies that I didn’t really care for other than give them to those who would appreciate them? Of course, I’m talking about my coworkers. I brought in a container of brownies and they were gone in no time. One coworker in particular even stopped by my desk to rave about the brownies, so perhaps my standards are too high.

They were kinda pretty though, even if the top is slightly cracked from me poking at it.

out-of-the-oven.jpg

Leave a Reply

