Peanut Butter Brownies

I don’t know where I found this recipe. I’ve got it written out so I obviously copied it from somewhere or someone, but the exact origin is shrouded in mystery. Well, maybe that’s a slight exaggeration, but it’s forgotten in the dusty corners of my brain at the very least.

What I do know is that I did modify it somewhat from what I’d written. The original recipe didn’t call for any chocolate so I added the chocolate topping part. I mean, what goes better with peanut butter than chocolate?

5 tablespoons butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup peanut butter
12-ounce bag chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour an 8×8-inch baking pan.

In a 3-quart pan over low heat, heat butter until melted. Remove from heat and stir in sugar, eggs, vanilla, flour, baking powder, and peanut butter until smoothly blended.

Spread batter evenly into prepared pan.

picture-001.jpg

Bake until edges set and brownies are slightly darker, around 30-35 minutes.

Immediately after removing pan from oven, sprinkle entire bag of chocolate chips evenly over the top of brownies.

picture-005.jpg

Allow a few minutes for the chocolate to begin melting, then spread chocolate smoothly over the top.

picture-006.jpg

Allow to cool, cut into squares and enjoy with a big glass of milk. Or, if you’re like me, wait until it’s no longer scorching, cut out a single piece, and enjoy it as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

