Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

For birthdays, our department at work always provides treats for the celebrant. This year, I requested cupcakes from a specialty store that opened not all that long ago. They posted a menu with some of the flavors that they offered, and I shared some that sounded good, expecting one or two types to be selected and brought in.

I underestimated my boss however, because she bought several of the five flavors I mentioned, and then still bought some more of one that caught her eye. It was cupcake heaven!

And since I firmly believe that birthdays should always allow the birthday girl (i.e, me) to act like a supreme princess (I really try not to the rest of the year), I immediately announced to Jennifer that she would be splitting cupcakes with me in order to maximize tasting opportunities. Fortunately for me she readily agreed and I didn’t have to smack her with my royal scepter or tiara.

Wouldn’t it be great if I did have a royal scepter that I could use to smack people and get my way? It’s a good thing I don’t because I would abuse that privilege to no end.

Back to the cupcakes. We tried coconut, ho-ho, strawberry, and black bottom. The black bottom was really dense, and the ho-hos were surprisingly bland. The strawberry was tasty, but it was the coconut that blew us away with its fantasticness.

So I promptly went home and whipped up a batch of them.

Or, I thought about it but I had recently found a recipe for supposedly-famous strawberry cupcakes and even had a pint of strawberries crying out to be turned into something with only a passing nod at healthiness. It was meant to be.

Strawberry cupcakes it is!

In a word, these were FABULOUS. Way better than the store-bought ones, in my not-unbiased opinion. The frosting, of cream cheese with lots of strawberry flavor, was amazing – cream cheese frosting is always good but the strawberries in it just pushed it over the top.

I even managed to get myself to bring in cupcakes to share at work. They were extremely well-received (understatement of the year there) – Jennifer 2 gave them a “standing ovation and a gold clap for the scrumptious strawberry cupcake” and called them “ten times better than from the cupcake store!!! Yummmmmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!” T even shared her thoughts, saying they were “absolutely, unbelievably, heavenly delicious!!!!!! ”

Sadly for my coworkers, the majority had to stay at home. Rob was not all that happy at losing any of them to my cohorts so I didn’t have the heart to take in more than just a tasting. And this from a guy who doesn’t like strawberries. I guess anything turned into a cupcake is more tempting.

All packed up and ready to store.

Mmmmm, frosting.

Next time, it’ll be coconut. I’ve got a couple of versions to try and surely I can at least match those others. Thank you Good Things Catered for the fantastic recipe! You wouldn’t happen to have a great coconut version, would you?

3 Responses

  1. Haha! I’m soooo glad you liked them!! 🙂 I brought cupcakes to work today too. We’ll see how it goes! 🙂

  2. oh, ps – I have a double coconut cupcakes recipe on my site that’s TO DIE FOR, yummy. 🙂

  3. Oh, these were unbelievably popular. And I will be trying your double coconut cupcake recipe soon. I can’t believe I’d missed it – I thought I’d checked your old posts. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

