Banana Cake

If you pay any attention at all to food blogs (or at least those on baking), you’ve most likely heard of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home To Yours book. There’s even a group dedicated to working their way through the book. How could I not check out the book and see what all the fuss is about?

Since I always like to test-run cookbooks, I borrowed this one from the library first. If I like a book enough, next up is an Amazon order.

There were a number of tempting recipes, but I started with the index, looking for banana recipes since 1. I had a batch blackening on my counter, and 2. My husband is the world’s biggest banana bread fan.

I didn’t spot a banana bread recipe, but the banana cake one caught my eye. It sounded awfully like a banana bread, just baked in a bundt pan instead of a loaf pan.

The recipe was very easy to follow, and the batter was tasty (yes, I sampled). The cake baked up beautifully (much prettier than my picture would indicate). I thought the flavor was nice and the cake itself was very delicate and tender.

The real verdict was from Rob, since he was the reason for baking the cake in the first place. He thought it was delicious and especially appreciated the large yield – one bundt cake is way bigger than one loaf of bread.

Even with his super-sized treat I had to sneak a piece away to bring to Jennifer to taste. She thought it quite tasty, and appreciated the delicate crumb.

Dorie’s first for me was a real winner, enough so that the book got nudged onto my Amazon wish list.

Leave a Reply

