Nigella’s Cream Cheese Brownies

I love reading Nigella Lawson’s cookbooks. Yes, I said “reading” – for whatever reason her writing just delights me and I can curl up with the cookbooks quite happily and slip into a contented state.

I just had never bothered making any of her recipes before, but finally decided that I had to give some a try. Brownies are a real favorite of mine and I’m always on the hunt for another great brownie recipe, so I thought I’d try with that. She had a few options, but I settled on the cream cheese brownies – the sliced layer of cream cheese in the middle of the brownie won me over.

Unfortunately the brownies themselves didn’t do much for me. Dense and somewhat greasy, the cream cheese layer didn’t provide the promised contrast and instead had an unpleasant rubbery texture to go along with its disagreeable tang. Perhaps the light cream cheese I used wasn’t a good choice, but it couldn’t have affected the brownie layer itself which still suffered from the already mentioned density and greasiness.

Sorry Nigella, I still love you and will try another recipe but so far I’m not a fan of the recipes themselves.

One Response

  1. Realy good article helpe me alot. Thank you very much from skinfood Thailand

Leave a Reply

