Sautéed Strawberries

A visit to Oh Yumm opened my eyes to how delicious sautéed strawberries could be, and I knew I’d have to try and recreate the dish at home.

I found a recipe from Terra Restaurant, and used it with slight modifications. Specifically, the wine – I’ve never like Cabernet (too oaky) and so I used some spicy Zinfandel I had unopened. I’m actually not much of a red wine drinker but I usually have a bottle or two around for cooking.

I combined the wine, sugar, and vanilla bean in a saucepan and let it simmer for awhile before adding the pepper. The smell was amazing!

Once the sauce was simmering, I sautéed the strawberries in a little butter briefly then added the sauce and brought everything to a boil.

Served over ice cream, it was very tasty, though it didn’t have anywhere near the depth of flavor of Oh Yumm’s version.

Leave a Reply

