Chocolate Trufflettes

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup chopped toasted pecans
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • additional nuts, cocoa powder or coconut or confectioners sugar, optional

Combine sugar, butter, and milk in large saucepan and bring to boil over low heat. Simmer 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and whisk in cocoa, oatmeal, nuts, and vanilla.

Chill mixture for about an hour. Shape into balls and roll in additional nuts cocoa powder, toasted coconut, confectioners sugar (I used cocoa powder). Refrigerate or allow to dry at room temperature.

chocolate trufflettes
(Sorry for the bad picture; I’m not sure why it ended up being so fuzzy.)

This is another recipe from my mom. I don’t think I’ll make these again. Not truffle like enough for me. But, it did yield a generous enough amount for me to share them with coworkers as part of their Christmas cookie bounty. My mom claims that if you store them in a covered container, they are truffle like – rich and creamy, but if you let them dry out before storing them, they’re more fudge like. I’m not sure about that. I covered them immediately, and while they were tasty, they weren’t really rich and creamy.

One Response

  1. […] last of the cookies I put together in a gift back for my coworkers (along with molasco cookies and chocolate trufflettes), and they were by far the favorites. I had several people send emails or stop me in the hall to […]

Leave a comment