Mexican Wedding Cookies a.k.a. Russian Tea Cakes a.k.a. Good Stuff

These may very well be my favorite cookies of all time. So why do I make them so infrequently?

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup toasted pecans, finely chopped
  • additional powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 375F.

Cream butter and sugar, then add vanilla. Stir in flour, nuts, and salt until dough holds together. Shape into 1-inch balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 10 – 15 minutes or until set but not brown.

Here they are just out of the oven; these are perfect:

teacakes

While still warm, roll in powdered sugar, then let cool, and roll in powdered sugar again.

These were the last of the cookies I put together in a gift bag for my coworkers (along with molasco cookies and chocolate trufflettes), and they were by far the favorites. I had several people send emails or stop me in the hall to exclaim over how good “those white cookies” were.

Leave a comment